Frequently Asked Questions


Q.- If the ball touches the net and does not pass to the opposite side, is a fault in the service?
A.- Yes, it is fault in service.

Q.- If the ball touches the net and remain caught in it without falling to the ground, is it a fault or must the service be repeated?
A.- It is a fault in the service.

Q.- If the player receiving tries to return or block the ball and touches the net before a fault in service has occurred. Who has committed the fault?
A.- The receiver is at fault and the server wins the point.

Q.- If the receiving player touches the next with his body or racquet, or passes with his/her body, foot or racquet to the opposing side while the service is occurring before a fault in the service was committed, who has committed the foul?
A.- It is fault of the receiving team.

Q: If the receiving player tries to block a service by moving to the net before the ball leaves the racquet. Is it a fault?
A: Yes, it is the fault of the receiving player for disturbing the server when he/she is executing the service, the receiver can’t move until the ball leaves the server's racquet. Only little movements of feet are allowed.

Q: Can the receiving player get close to the net and go up and move his/her hands and/or racket over the net, while the service is occurring?
A: No, the receiver will commit a fault for disturbing the server while the service is occurring.

Q: Can the receiving couple change their position or their sides (right or left) while they are waiting for the service?
A: Yes, once the ball is in play, players can be placed in any position on their side.

Q: In a mixed doubles match, the serving male player performs the service below the shoulder toward to the side of the woman on the opposite team, her partner changes positions and responds to the service, is it fault for have changed of the position during the service?
A: No, the receiving team is not at fault. The players on a team can be in any position on their side.

Q: If one of the team’s members is injured, the other player can continue playing alone?
A: No, they can’t continue playing. The team loses the match.

Q: Is it the fault of the serving player if his/her touches the line during the service motion?
A: Yes. It is a “Foot Fault” Neither foot is allowed to touch the line during the service motion, until the server has hit the ball.

Q: Is it a fault of the serving player's foot goes under the line during the service motion?
A: Yes. It is a “Foot Fault”.

Q: If a player of the receiving team touches the net before the ball that has been served touches the ground out of bounds on the opposite side. Is it a receiving team fault?
A: Yes, it is fault of the receiving team, and they lose the point because one of them touched the net while the ball was in play.

Q: If the ball hits the body of one of the players. Which team wins the point?
A: The team that was hit with the ball loses the point.

Q: Can a player throws the racket at the ball in play with the intention to return the ball?
A: The team throwing the racket at the ball loses the point.